About Me

My past has been a roller coaster with many traumatic times. Fortunately I've had many wonderful times and loads of beautiful moments of happiness. I'm here and determined to make the rest of my life the very best of my life.

I was born in Mauritius on the 12th Dec 1946. I left the island in 1967 to migrate to New Zealand and after one year moved to Melbourne, Australia where I have lived since then. I speak three languages, namely French, English and Creole (The native language of Mauritius).

I retired on my 65th birthday, 11 December 2011 and never looked back.

Up to now, I've had a very busy life, never a dull moment.

Sadly, marriage has been my life biggest failure. But I'm resilient and very determined to never let the past affect my future.

Who am I.

I'm an artist, a creator, an inventor, a pilot, a sailor, a musician, a writer, a photographer, a dancer, a philosopher, a computer programmer, a movie maker.....

I'm also a DIY enthusiast, a mechanic, an electrician, a plumber, a builder, a decorator.....

I'm not good at cooking but I enjoy going out to restaurants tasting succulent dishes from all cultures.

Although I have a large garden at the front and rear of my house, I don't like gardening.

I do not have the patience for fishing. I prefer to do something that keeps me active.

I do not follow cricket. I have no idea of the rules.

Footy is not for me. After years of living in Melbourne, I heard of Richmond, St Kilda, Collingwood etc and I was asked who I barrack for. I replied Glen Waverley. What an idiot!. I though barrack meant, where I lived. I still have no idea of who plays who on Grand Final day. Ask me about the players. Answer, "I don't know". To date, I have absolutely no idea about the round or oval balls they use. When it comes to sports, I play tennis, I swim, I sail, I walk.....I have not yet tried bowling, golf....

Be Inspired

I hope than I inspire others to be creative, positive and always be happy.

I have been criticised all my life. I hope they never stop because I always learn from them.

Quote: “You have enemies? Good. That means you've stood up for something, sometime in your life.” ― Winston Churchill

Career

Setting up my various websites was interesting and challenging. No doubt that the knowledge I acquired over the years about software development along with PHP, Java and MySQL helped.

My professional career is one my greatest achievement. I started work as a draftsman in Port Louis, Mauritius (where I was born) before living for Auckland NZ and later Wellington. There I studied and did many manual jobs such as factory work, cleaning parks, waiter and singing/playing the guitar and piano in restaurants to earn a student income. A year later I moved to Melbourne and studied Cobol and RPG programming at IBM. From there, I worked in many industries and eventually move to System Analyst. My career went from strength to strength and eventually I achieved the position of IT Manager.

I then took on the challenge of leaving the workforce to run my own business Microprogramming, which was about importing components from Taiwan and assembling PCs. Software development became a major asset to the business and I spend three years developing my own Accounting Software MPS (MicroProgramming Software), a complete package consisting of General Ledger, Debtors, Creditors, Inventory Control. Purchasing, Payroll and Job Costing. Many small to medium side organisations used the software which kept me very busy with support and custom modifications.

Difficult and stressing times along with "The recession we had to have" eventually forced me back to the workforce. Project Manager, Crystal Report Writing, Book Keeping and many other small jobs kept me active for years and my last one before retiring was working as Office Manager/Financial Controller for a manufacturing company. 

Over the years, I obtained many additional certificates from various colleges to enhance my knowledge and I’m still learning new skills.

Description of some of the certificates:

  • Pianoforte Grade III from the Royal Schools of Music, England
  • Project Management from University of Sydney
  • Diploma of Freelance Journalism from Australian College of Journalism
  • Management Skills from Holmesglen Institute of Tafe.
  • Payroll and Office Tax Procedures from Applied Education
  • Certificate III in wholesale operations from Pinnacle Training Solutions
  • Elected Member of the Australian Computer Society in August 1999.
  • Accpac General Ledger from Computer Associates
    Electronics Security Alarms from Chisholm Institute of Technical and Further Education
  • Data/Communication Cable Licensing from Chisholm Institute of Technical and Further Education.
  • Documentary Video Making from the University of Sydney
  • Film Making and Directing from Prolific Productions
  • Visual Basic Pro from Holmesglen Institute of Tafe
  • Owner Building from Holmesglen Institute of Tafe
  • Photoshop - Intermediate from Holmesglen Institute of Tafe
  • Get to know your 35mm camera from Holmesglen Institute of Tafe
  • Certificate in Sailing Skills from Brighton Yacht Club
  • Marine Radio Operator's Certificate of Proficiency VHF (MROCP)

My Hobbies are:

  • Amateur Radio Operator Call sign: VK3JKG). Sending and receiving Morse codes were a requirement then.
  • Flying (General Aviation - small aircraft. I no longer have my pilot licence)
  • Drone. I have three drones. Blade Chroma, DJI Mavic Pro 2. Small water landing Drone.
  • Sailing (Macgregor M26)
  • Touring, caravanning and boating/sailing around Australia
  • Playing Tennis
  • Playing the piano and guitar.
  • Travel overseas. (When I travel, I prefer to meet local people rather than Duty Free shopping)
  • Dancing.
  • Documentary and Film Making
  • Photography. I spent years doing professional photography and video.
  • Country and Western Music
  • Classic Car. ( I did own a 1954 Citroen Traction Avant. (Sold it on 25th September 2017)
  • Model Cars. I have over 100 Citroen model cars in the collection along with many Citroen books.
  • Since 1969, I started collecting red wines and I had a good variety of bottles. (Sold at Auction in September 2017)
  • Electronics. I have a passion for gadgets and over the years have designed and built many projects from scratch.
  • Writing is my other passion. I published the monthly journal MEA (Les Mauritiens en Australie) in 1996.
  • I was initiated to the Third Degree at the United Grand Lodge of Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons of Victoria, Australia on 24 of July 2003. 
  • Painting. I attended a course in learning to paint at the Paynesville Neighbourhood Center in 2022.
  • In my retirement days, I spend any spare time fiddle with mechanics, home renovation, electronics and rigging my sail boat.
  • Last by not least, I enjoy going out for coffee and to restaurants and I have an appetite for great cuisine of all cultures.

New Destiny

On July 2018, I moved from Mornington, VIC to Bairnsdale, Gippsland.

I love the country lifestyle, the lakes and the people.

However, I tend to spend more time in Mornington rather than Bairnsdale. The reason is that all my family and friends are located around Melbourne.

There is so much to do.